I hate writing this. Because honestly? Who could ever possibly be thankful for the gym? And why would I be thankful for the gym?

I don’t really like going. I don’t like sweating my ass off watching all the body builder guys strut around and occasionally lifting a weight. I don’t like looking at all the skinny girls elliptical for a half hour and then being able to call it good. I just don’t like it.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t be grateful for it.

I’m grateful for the gym simply because it is a place where I can go and for one hour (or 90 minutes), I get to just be alone with my thoughts. And, exercise gives you endorphins, and endorphins make you happy.

tumblr_mq7jzkdd4m1szx1oxo1_

I can leave the gym feeling invigorated (if not a little sore). I feel better. Even when I’m exhausted, and don’t feel like going to the gym, I push myself to go and it makes me feel more energetic. It brightens up the rest of the day.

Plus, getting stronger and getting in shape isn’t too bad either.

Working out also helps my mental health, which also keeps me happier and more energetic throughout the day.

So, even though I really do hate the gym, I’m pretty darn thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

