The first thing I want to be thankful for is my hometown, Park City, Utah. Without the move my parents made when I was 11, I don’t think I would be the person that I am now.

Park City has introduced me to wonderful experiences and people and activities. Without Park City, I don’t know if I would have ever found volleyball or writing or my ability to be so open to new experiences. I don’t know if I would have ever met some of my best friends, some of the best people I know.

So, thank you, Park City.

Here, I’ve learned the real value of life and love.Here, I have fallen in love with autumn, and the way seasons change – something I never had in California. Here, my family and I have grown closer, I’ve discovered who I am and settled into that with ease and grace.

In Park City, I have cradled poetry underneath starry night skies, belted country music to my steering wheel on open roads, learned what it really means to call someplace home. 

While it seems odd to be thanking a whole city, and not just my home, or one area of the city, I believe there are spots all around Park City that have helped me become the person I am today.

My actual house is an obvious one – a place where I have found comfort and peace when I wasn’t sure I’d ever feel peaceful again. The mountains are where I discovered my love of nature and aspen trees and discovering new places. The Olympic Park showed me a good work ethic and the essence of having a whole lot of fun. And there are so many other places.

So yes, I’m grateful for my home of Park City. How could I not be?

Leave a Reply

